As a patron you can expect to be billed on the 1st of each month (at Midnight) in the pacific time zone – that said, there are currently three different ways that creators can choose from to collect pledge payment from their patrons. So you may be wondering: how do I know how my creator is billing me? No fear, keep reading below to learn more about the three different charging methods.
In this article:
As a patron to a per creation creator, you are charged your pledge amount for every paid post that a creator makes while you are pledged to them, up to . When a per creation creator of yours makes a paid post a pending bill is placed on your account. Then on the 1st of the following month we process any pending bills on your account, or immediately when you delete your pledge.
You can see any pending payments on your account by logging in and visiting page.
Whatever the form of your creators’ creations, whether they be; podcast episodes, videos, photographs, or illustrations, you will be charged for the content they publish in paid posts.
If you are unsure whether or not a creator you are pledged to is charging per creation, you can find this information by visiting your . Take a look at the “your pledge” column on the page. If a creator is charging per creation, your pledge will be listed as something other than “per month.”
It may say “per creation, per video, per illustration, or per week, etc.” as long as it does not read “per month” you can expect to be charged for every paid post your creator makes.
What happens when I make my pledge?
As soon as you pledge to a per creation creator, you instantly get access to their back catalog of patron only content, and any posts made for your tier specifically. From that point on, a pending bill will be placed on your account for every paid post that the creator publishes that month up to .
What is a monthly max?
As a patron pledged to a per creation creator, you have the ability to set a monthly maximum of creations that you will support in a given month. This will ensure that you are never charged more than your pledge budget. To learn how to set a monthly max, please go .
What if I delete my pledge?
Any pending bills will be processed immediately once you delete your pledge to a per creation creator. So, you’ll want to double check and see if there are any pending bills on your account.
If you have any pending bills on your account, you’ll be able to see them by logging in to your account and visiting and then selecting your pledge history tab.
Example: You pledge $3.00 USD per creation to a creator and set a two creation monthly max on March 5th. Your creator makes 5 paid posts between March 5th and March 31st, you’ll be charged a total of $6.00 USD on April 1st. If in April the creator makes 5 paid posts between April 1st and April 10th and you delete your pledge on April 11th, you’ll be charged $6.00 USD immediately upon deleting your pledge.
The majority of creators on Patreon are using our monthly charging method to collect payments from their patrons. When you make a pledge to a monthly charging creator, we process your pledge payment in the first of the following month, and the 1st of each month thereafter.
What if I edit (increase or decrease) my pledge?
If you edit your pledge during the month you'll be charged your new pledge amount on the 1st of the upcoming month. Because you have yet to be charged for the month, your access will immediately be affected by your edit. So if you decrease your pledge, your access will instantly be limited to the new (lower) tier that you've pledge to. If you you increase your pledge, you'll immediately have access to content available to the higher tier that you've pledged to.
What if I delete my pledge?
Because you are being charged for your pledge from the previous month, you will lose access to your creator’s patron only content as soon as you delete your pledge. This is because you have not yet paid for that month’s pledge. You can see a detailed history of your pledge payments, including what month you were supporting by logging in to your account and visiting your .
Some creators are charging patrons with our charge up front method. Patrons pledging to charge up front creators should pay close attention to their pledge confirmation page, as it details their billing schedule. When pledging to a charge up front creator you are charged upon pledging, and then on the 1st of each month for that month’s pledge.
Will I be charged immediately?
Yes. Charge up front creators require payment immediately in order for you to have access to their back catalog of patron only content (for your tier).
What if I increase my pledge?
Regardless of when you increase your pledge, you will be charged the difference between your previous pledge amount and your updated pledge amount. You can expect to be charged your edited pledge amount in full on the upcoming 1st of the month.
Example: Say you pledge to a charge up front creator’s $6.00 USD tier level on March 5th. You are charged immediately upon pledging– this give you access to their patron only content (for your tier). If you were to edit your pledge to your creator’s $20.00 USD tier level on March 21st, you would immediately be charged the difference of $14.00 USD for your pledge increase. Come April 1st you are charged your new pledge of $20.00 USD for April’s pledge.
What if I delete my pledge?
If you delete your pledge to a charge up front creator you will still have access to their patron only content for the remainder of that month; however, they will no longer be listed on . You can visit the creator’s page directly to view their content. When the new billing cycle begins on the 1st of the month, you will no longer have access to the creator’s patron only content.
Important Note: Patreon will not issue refunds to patrons on behalf of creators, except in extremely rare circumstances.
All charges will appear on your bank statement as "VISIT PATREON.COM/INFO"
The names of creators you are supporting will not be included on the statement.
More articles about payment process here.