Patreon Help Center Back to Patreon
We are currently performing some planned maintenance.
For more information, check out this article.

How can we help you?

Follow

I'm going on hiatus. How do I ensure my patrons don't get charged?

This feature is in limited beta and not available for all creators. If you do not see it when you head to your settings to revert your account to patron-only, it is not yet available for you. If you are on charge up front and need to pause billing without taking your page down, let us know here.

 

We understand that some months you get busy and might not be able to make a post. Or maybe you're taking a well-deserved vacation and don't want to charge your patrons while you're away. When this happens, you can choose to pause your creator page. Depending on how your page is setup, there are a few different ways to go about this:

If your page is currently receiving payments per post, you can simply not post any paid content during your hiatus.

Creators who are on a monthly billing cycle have the option to pause their creator page. If you pause your creator page, your patrons won't be charged during the next billing cycle and your creator page will automatically resume (un-pause) on the 2nd of the following month.

For example: On January 20th, you realize you didn't make a post at all in January and you don't want your patrons to be charged on February 1st. Instead of reverting your account to a "patron only" account, you can pause your creator page to ensure your patrons are not charged on February 1st. On February 2nd your creator page will automatically un-pause and normal billing will continue in March.

Here's how to pause your campaign: 

Step 1: Visit account settings from the dropdown menu in the top right corner. 

Step 2: Select revert my account to patron only.

Settings.png

Step 3: Select pause my creator page.

Settings.png

Step 4: Select save changes.

Un-pausing Your Creator Page

When you're ready to come back from your break, you can un-pause your creator page from your profile settings page .

Step 1: Click Revert my account to patron-only and then selecting the un-pause my creator page option.

Settings.png
Step 2: Click yes, un-pause creator page from the pop up window

Settings.png

Step 3: Select save changes.

No matter how you go about taking a break from your Patreon page, be sure to notify your patrons! This can be done with a simple post or by sending a message through your Patron Manager.

Enjoy your break and see you back here soon!

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk