You will see a follow icon on every creator's page. Click that, and you'll be able to see any of the creator's publicly-facing posts directly from your home page.
If you don't see a follow icon that's because you're currently a patron to the creator! If you delete your pledge, you will then see a follow icon.
If the creator you are following reverts to a patron-only account, you will not be able to unfollow them, but you will also not receive any notifications from their posts, unless they become a creator again.