If you canceled your pledge and were still billed, there are a couple of reasons why this occurred.
I pledge to a per-post creator and was charged after deleting my pledge.
One possibility is you had a pending pledge. If the creator you were pledging to is on a per-post campaign, you would be billed every time they make a paid post.
Even if you canceled your pledge before the start of the pay cycle (the 1st of the month), pending pledges will still process. This is because it is a charge for content you already received.
If you're uncertain whether or not you have any pending pledges due, check out your pledge history page. If any paid posts were created before you cancelled your pledge, you'll see them listed here!
I pledge to a monthly creator and was charged after deleting my pledge.
If you deleted your pledge to a monthly creator before the payment cycle begins (the 1st of the month) and were still charged, it is likely your payment initially declined.
When the 1st of the month rolls around, we begin to process all pledges. If your payment does not process on the 1st, we will continually attempt to bill you.
If you update your payment method or get enough funds in your account to cover the charge, you'll be billed.
For example: You're a patron of a monthly creator. We bill you on March 1st for your pledge and it declines. You delete your pledge on March 2nd. We continually attempt to bill you for this past declined bill. You get enough funds in your account on March 5th to cover the pledge- When we run your card, it processes.
You'll be able to see if you have any past declined pledges in your pledge history.